Contact Us

When is the Lubbock Municipal Election?

Logan Mock-Bunting, Getty Images

The 2012 City of Lubbock General Election is approaching quickly, and some in the Lubbock City Council, Lubbock ISD Board of Trustees, and the Frenship ISD School Board will have to fight to keep their positions.

The positions up for election in the May 12th election include:

Mayor (2 year term): Current Mayor Tom Martin is challenged by local businessman Glen Robertson. Robertson ran for City Council in District 1 in the 2010 election, but lost to Councilman Victor Hernandez.

City Council District 2 (4 year term): Councilman Floyd Price is running unopposed for the seat which he has held since June 2004.

City Council District 4 (4 year term): Councilman Paul R. Beane is running for reelection for the seat which he has held since 2008. His opponents are Jim Gerlt and Dwight Fullengim.

City Council District 6 (4 year term): Randy Sanders is running for the seat currently held by Councilman Jim Gilbreath, who is not running for reelection. Gilbreath has represented District 6 since May 2003. Also running for the District 4 seat is local attorney Latrelle Joy.

Municipal Court Judge (4 year term): Lubbock Municipal Court Judge Robert Doty is running unopposed.

Some Lubbock ISD Board of Trustees members and Frenship ISD School Board members also have opponents. More information on these races is available here.

The deadline to register to vote in this election is April 12th. Early voting begins on April 30th and ends May 8th. You can register to vote at the Lubbock County Elections Office located at 1308 Crickets Avenue.

A complete list of early voting locations that will be available in Lubbock County is available here, and the list of voting locations that will be used on May 12th is here.

Best of KFYO

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KFYO Advisory Board quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KFYO Advisory Board contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.