Texas Department of Public Safety Increases Proof of Residency Requirements for Drivers Licenses, ID Cards
The proof of residency requirements to get a Texas drivers license or an identification card have been increased.
The Texas Department of Public Safety announced the new requirements, which apply only to those getting a driver’s license for the first time, or an identification card.
New applicants must reside in the State of Texas for at least 30 days prior to filing the application, and must show two acceptable documents for establishing proof of residency.
The 30-day requirement is waived for those who turn over a valid out-of-state driver’s license, but two documents showing proof of residency will still be required.
These requirements were added as the result of legislation approved by the Texas Legislature.