Contact Us

John Frullo Chosen for Texas House Committee on Manufacturing

Texas Legislature

A Texas legislator from Lubbock will serve on a new House committee.

Texas House Speaker Joe Straus today created the Interim Committee on Manufacturing, which will recommend ways that the Texas Legislature can help strengthen the manufacturing sector in Texas.

State Representative John Frullo has been appointed to serve on the committee to look at Manufacturing, which is a $192 billion industry in Texas, and accounts for 15 percent of the Gross State Product.

More than 800,000 Texans work in the manufacturing sector, and, on average, earn more than workers in other sectors.

The committee will take recommendations made by each House committee last year aimed at improving the state’s manufacturing capability, and will compile and summarize those findings, as well as making their own recommendations.

“Our strong workforce, friendly business climate, and natural resources give Texas the opportunity to lead the nation in manufacturing,” Straus said. “Manufacturing jobs are among the best our state has to offer, and this committee will give the House important guidance on how to spur growth and encourage manufacturers to put more Texans to work.”

The committee is chaired by Rep. Jim Murphy of Houston, and Rep. Eddie Rodriguez of Austin will be vice chairman.

Members include Frullo, Reps. Carol Alvarado, Angie Chen Button, Jason Isaac, Eric Johnson, Tracy King, John Kuempel, Lyle Larson, George Lavender, Marisa Marquez, Sergio Muñoz Jr., Tan Parker, and Kenneth Sheets.

The committee will report its findings and recommendations, as well as drafts of legislation necessary to implement the recommendations to Straus by January 7th, 2012. The committee will expire at the beginning of the 83rd Legislature on January 8th.

Best of KFYO

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KFYO Advisory Board quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KFYO Advisory Board contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.