Nine months after a catastrophic knee injury, a Texas Tech football player is named to national watch list.

Running Back Eric Stephens has been named to the Doak Walker Award preseason watch list for the 2012 football season.

Stephens missed the last 7 games of the 2011 season with a knee injury sustained in the Texas A&M game in October.

Stephens played in only 5 games, but amassed 565 rushing yards and 8 touchdowns.

Bam Morris in 1993 and Byron Hanspard in 1996 are the other two Red Raiders who have won the Award in the history of the trophy.

Three other Texas Tech Offensive players have named to Preseason award watch lists and include LaAdrian Waddle (2), Seth Doege (2), and Eric Ward.