Texas Speaker of the House Joe Strauss announced House Committee Assignments today for Texas’ 84th Legislature.

In West Texas, John Frullo was appointed Chairman of the House Insurance Committee and a member of the Culture Committee and Recreation & Tourism Committee.

Representative Frullo said he was excited to get to work.

“Representative Smithee has left some large shoes to fill. He’s been an outstanding chairman, and I’m eager to continue the legacy of strong leadership in the Insurance Committee.”

Representative John Smithee of Amarillo served as chairman in the position since 1993 and will now chair the Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence Committee.

Dustin Burrows was appointed to the County Affairs Committee and the International Trade & Intergovernmental Affairs Committee. Drew Darby will chair the Energy Resources Committee and sit on the Ways and Means Committee.

Susan King from District 71 will now chair the Defense & Veterans’ Affairs Committee and was appointed to the Human Services Committee.

Finally, Four Price was appointed a member of the Appropriations, Calendars and Human Services Committees.

Representative Frullo said what the legislators do will impact the lives of millions of Texans.

The work done by the committees is integral to the policy-making process, and I look forward to continuing that work for the people of District 84 and the state of Texas.”

A full listing of committee assignments can be found on the Texas House of Representatives website.