South Plains College Offering License to Carry Class on Saturday, April 17th
On Saturday, April 17th, South Plains College will be offering the Texas License to Carry a Handgun class in room 109C of the Law Enforcement Technology building on the Levelland campus.
This course will cost $75 for those getting their license for the first time, not including the $40 fee for fingerprint and background checks required by the Texas Department of Public Safety and FBI.
Students are required to bring their own revolver or semi-automatic pistol of any caliber and 50 rounds of ammunition. Those without eye and hearing protection will be provided such.
The release from SPC says that the classroom portion covers firearm safety, the use of force, non-violent conflict resolution, lawful concealed or open carry, storage with children in the home and contacts with law enforcement personnel. This will run for around 4 to 6 hours. The range portion will cover range safety rules and commands, and the shooting portion will have students using the indoor pistol range in the Law Enforcement building.
Those who don't have much experience with shooting need to take a basic pistol course before taking the License to Carry course, as it's only for qualifying to obtain a License to Carry and not to learn how to shoot.
Registration and pay must be done in advance, and the class is limited to a maximum of 10 students. To register and pay, click here.
Whoa: 12 Amazing Treehouses You Can Stay at in Texas
A Brief History of Texas Tech Men's Basketball in the NCAA Tournament