Lubbock Fire Rescue Chief Mike Kemp will be awarded the Texas Department of Public Safety’s Director’s Award, and Department of Public Safety Corporal John Gonzalez will be awarded the Medal of Merit for their work on the Lubbock Regional Public Safety Memorial.

The awards ceremony will take place tomorrow morning in Austin during a State Public Safety Commission meeting at DPS headquarters.

Chief Kemp will be recognized for his service as Chairman and Corporal Gonzalez for service as Co Chairman of the Committee.

The Memorial, dedicated on September 11, 2013, displays the names of fallen first responders in the Lubbock region.

The 7,000 square foot memorial is located on the grounds of the Leroy Elmore Park at 6601 Quaker Avenue.

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO