Lubbock City Council incumbents Victor Hernandez and Karen Gibson won re-election this evening, with Hernandez turning back a credible challenge by Frank Gutierrez to keep his District One seat. Hernandez captured 50.59% of the vote; challengers Frank Gutierrez and Lana Bear Moore each captured 37.65% and 11.76% respectively.

In District Five, Karen Gibson had no trouble defeating challenger Brian Carr. Mayor Pro Temp Gibson won handily with 62.78% to Carr's 37.22%.

In District Three, the race to replace retiring Councilman Todd Klein will go to a run-off election between activist Deanne Clark and small business owner Jeff Griffith; Clark garnered 38.56% of the vote with Griffith gathering 33.31% of the votes. Barber Maurice Stanley, who pushed a message of "taking care of what we have" -- and never ruling out possible tax increases -- received 28.12% of the vote in District Three.

In other County and School Board races, Laura Vinson won the Lubbock Independent School District At-Large-Seat with 50.12% of the vote; her nearest competitor, Brett Underwood, received 36.48% of the vote. In the Lubbock Cooper Independent School Board race for the Place 4 seat, Derek Kitten beat Matt Caswell 56.73% to 43.27%.

Two school bond issues were passed easily by area voters: The Frenship bond proposal won with 60.87% of the vote; the Lubbock Cooper Independent School District bond proposal passed with 61.46% of the vote. A bond proposal for the Slaton Independent School District lost with 52% of Slaton voters against the bond.

On Monday's editions of Lubbock's First News and the Chad Hasty Show, a full re-cap and analysis of the returns and the upcoming run-off will be discussed.