Contact Us

Texas Tech School of Law Team Brings Home ABA Advocacy National Championship


A team from the Texas Tech School of Law has brought home the University’s 27th national championship.

The group of third-year students claimed the Texas Tech School of Law’s 27th national championship at the American Bar Association’s National Appellate Advocacy Competition in Chicago.

The win is Texas Tech Law’s fourth overall ABA championship and the third-straight year that a Tech Law team has claimed one of the top two American moot court contests.

In 2011 and 2012, Texas Tech Law teams won the National Moot Court Competition.

The team consisted of Reagan Marble of Jourdanton, Ashirvad Parikh of Kingwood, and Suzanne Taylor of Arlington. They managed to beat perennial contender South Texas College of Law in the final round of the competition.

Tech took six of seven ballots from a panel that included six federal district court judges and one judge from the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

“Congratulations to Reagan, Ash, and Suzanne on this incredible accomplishment,” said Robert Sherwin, director of advocacy programs and team coach. “They have won the largest, and arguably most prestigious, moot court competition in the country.”

The team was coached by Sherwin and Elizabeth Hill, an associate at Craig, Terrill, Hale, & Grantham, LLP.

Also, Stephanie Basom of Midland and Aaron Tatyrek of Vernon placed second overall, and won the Best Brief Award among Petitioners Briefs at the Billings, Exum, & Frye National Moot Court Competition at Elon University School of Law.

Best of KFYO

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KFYO Advisory Board quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KFYO Advisory Board contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.