Occupy Lubbock protester Andrew McMillan has filed to run for the Texas Legislature.

McMillan will run for the state representative seat in District 84 currently held by Republican John Frullo, who has filed to run for reelection.

McMillan was arrested on December 12th after attempting to chase a group of people in a truck that were reportedly heckling the Occupy Lubbock group. One of the protesters attempted to open a door on the truck, and one of the passengers pointed a gun at him. Both the occupants of the pickup and the Occupy Lubbock protesters called police.

When Lubbock police arrived, they arrested 23-year-old McMillan on outstanding warrants which included unpaid traffic tickets, public intoxication, and interfering with a public servant.

Frullo has held the District 84 seat since November 2010.

Other political seats are contested as well. Former Lubbock City Councilman Frank Morrison has filed to challenge Lubbock County Commissioner Precinct 1 Bill McCay. You can read that entire story here.

Two Democrats and one Republican will challenge current Lubbock County Commissioner Precinct 3 Gilbert Flores, a Democrat. Local funeral director Richard Calvillo and Lorenzo “Bubba” Sedeño will challenge Flores in the Democratic primary. Ysidro Gutierrez is the sole Republican running for that particular seat, which he held prior to Flores’ election.

Four people will compete for the County Court at Law No. 1 unexpired term left by late Judge Rusty Ladd, who was killed in a traffic accident in late September. The Lubbock County Commissioners Court appointed Mark Hocker to take the seat, and was sworn in Monday morning. Hocker will run for the seat, as will David Nelson, Scott Morris, and Douglas H. Freitag.

Marina L. Garcia and Richard Mendez are both running for the County Constable, Precinct 3 position in the Democratic primary.

Carl Tepper is the lone candidate running for chairman of the Lubbock County Republican Party. Kenny Ketner runs unopposed for the Democratic county chair position.