The offseason honors and accolades continue for Texas Tech Red Raider Basketball after their record breaking 2018-19 season in which they reached the NCAA Division I Championship Game.

On Tuesday, the Red Raider Basketball team was honored by Governor Greg Abbott and the Texas House and Senate. Making the trip to Austin was Texas Tech University President Lawrence Schovanec, Texas Tech Athletic Director Kirby Hocutt, Red Raider Basketball Head Coach Chris Beard and a select number of players and staff.

Texas Tech Red Raider Basketball at State Capitol #2- 050719
State Rep. John Frullo, Facebook

Last month, the Texas House officially passed House Resolution 1225 honoring Red Raider Basketball's historic season. The complete text of the resolution is shown below.

Texas Tech Red Raider Basketball lost to Virginia 85-77 (OT) in the National Championship Game on April 8.

86th Legislature H.R. No. 1225

April 29, 2019

WHEREAS, The Texas Tech men ’s basketball program achieved a
new level of success during the 2018-2019 season, as the Red Raiders
advanced all the way to the NCAA Division I national championship
game; and

WHEREAS, In the course of an unforgettable season, the Texas
Tech players repeatedly surpassed expectations; with their
inspired play against their Big 12 foes, they earned a share of the
regular season conference title, claiming that trophy for the first
time ever; Tech was rewarded with an invitation to the "Big Dance"
of the NCAA tournament and embarked on a thrilling run that
electrified the Red Raider faithful; and

WHEREAS, After defeating Northern Kentucky and Buffalo,
Texas Tech upset the highly ranked Michigan and Gonzaga squads to
earn its first trip to the Final Four; in the semifinals, the Red
Raider defense demonstrated its trademark tenacity, leading the
team to a 61-51 win over Michigan State and setting the stage for
the title game showdown against Virginia; in that contest, the Tech
players gave their all through four hard-fought quarters and an
overtime period but saw their season come to an end just one win
short of the national championship; and

WHEREAS, The Red Raiders had numerous heroes during their
history-making campaign; Lubbock native Jarrett Culver was named
the Big 12 Player of the Year, and he and Matt Mooney earned spots on
the Final Four All-Tournament Team; valuable leadership was
provided by veteran players Norense Odiase, Brandone Francis, and
Tariq Owens, while sophomores Davide Moretti and Deshawn Corprew
and freshman Kyler Edwards were also key to Tech ’s success; the team
was guided by head coach Chris Beard, who was named the Associated
Press Men ’s College Basketball Coach of the Year and the Big 12
Coach of the Year for his outstanding efforts; and

WHEREAS, By proving itself one of the top teams in college
basketball, Texas Tech has furthered the Lone Star State ’s
reputation for sports excellence and ushered in an exciting new era
for Red Raider athletics, and its achievements are a source of great
pride for the university ’s students, alumni, and fans; now,
therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 86th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Tech University men ’s
basketball team on advancing to the championship game of the 2019
NCAA Division I tournament and extend to the team ’s players,
coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the Red Raiders as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO