Wednesday, August 1 was the deadline for candidates to file letters of intent to seek the Republican nomination for Lubbock County Court At Law #3. The ballot replacement is being necessitated by last month's death of David Nelson.

According to the Lubbock County Republican Party, the following candidate filed by the deadline. Their names are listed in order of receipt:

Phillip Hays
Ann-Marie Carruth
Bradley Pettiet
John Grace
Nicholas Pena

All applicants will be given an opportunity to address the LCRP Executive Committee* at a meeting scheduled for August 6th. The selection vote will be held at that meeting.

*The Lubbock County Republican Party Executive Committee consists of the Chairman and the elected Precinct Chairs.

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO