News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO logo
Get our free mobile app

Texas Governor Greg Abbott has made a series of appointments to the Upper Colorado River Authority (UCRA) Board of Directors. Two of the moves announced on Thursday were reappointments, one was a new appointment, and a new chairman was named as well.

Reese Braswell, of Bronte, and Erica Hall, of Abilene, were reappointed to the UCRA Board of Directors for terms ending on February 1, 2027. In addition, Leslie Lasater, of San Angelo, was appointed to her first term on the UCRA Board of Directors. Lasater's term will also end on February 1, 2027.

Finally, Governor Abbott named Nancy Blackwell as the new chairman of the board, for the UCRA.

There are a total of nine directors that serve on the UCRA board, all nine are appointed by the governor, and they are subject to Texas Senate confirmation.

According to the State of Texas, the Upper Colorado River Authority (UCRA) was created in 1935 to protect the watershed of Tom Green, Coke and other contiguous counties.  The UCRA's boundaries include Coke, Concho, Crockett, Glasscock, Irion, Menard, Mitchell, Nolan, Reagan, Runnels, Schleicher, Sterling, Taylor and Tom Green counties.

More information about the new appointees to the UCRA board, as provided by the Governor's Office:


Leslie Lasater of San Angelo is a realtor with ERA Newlin and Company and owner of Company Printing.  Her professional memberships include San Anglo Association of Realtors, Texas Real Estate Commission, National Federation of Independent Businesses and formerly the Beefmaster Cattlewomen Association. She is a former president of the Junior League of San Angelo. Lasater received a Bachelor of Business Administration in Finance with a financial real estate option from Angelo State University.

Reese Braswell of Bronte is a branch manager and the compliance officer at First National Bank of Sterling City. He currently serves as the president and treasurer of the Bronte 4B Economic Development Corp. In addition, he is a member and past president of the Lions Club.  Braswell received a Bachelor of Science in Animal Business from Angelo State University and is a graduate of the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking at Southern Methodist University.

Erica Hall of Abilene is an attorney and owner of Law Office of Erica E. Hall, PLLC. She is a member of the Texas Bar Foundation and State Bar of Texas, including the Family Law Section, Child Protection Section, and the District 14 Grievance Committee. In addition, she is a member of the National Center for Children’s Literature Board of Directors and Beyond the Bench-Taylor County and a former board member of the Alliance for Women and Children. She also provides legal training for CASA of the Big Country. Hall received a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Texas A&M University and a Juris Doctor degree from Texas Tech University School of Law.

Nancy Blackwell, P.E. of Ballinger is a principal with AEI Engineering, a Baxter & Woodman company. She is a past president of the Texas Society of Professional Engineers and currently serves on the boards of the Texas Engineering Foundation and the National MATHCOUNTS Foundation. Blackwell received a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from Texas A&M University.

READ ON: See the States Where People Live the Longest

Stacker used data from the 2020 County Health Rankings to rank every state's average life expectancy from lowest to highest. The 2020 County Health Rankings values were calculated using mortality counts from the 2016-2018 National Center for Health Statistics. The U.S. Census 2019 American Community Survey and America's Health Rankings Senior Report 2019 data were also used to provide demographics on the senior population of each state and the state's rank on senior health care, respectively.

Read on to learn the average life expectancy in each state.

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO