Texas Tech University student athletes Madeline Livergood and Tyler Floyd are being honored with Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarships.

The Big 12 Conference announced today that track and field’s Livergood and baseball’s Floyd were among 20 conference student athletes who were selected for the scholarship, named in honor of the late Dr. Gautt, a former Big 12 Conference staff member and student services pioneer who passed away in March 2005.

The list of all-time scholarship recipients has grown to 361 since the conference’s inception in 1996-97. Starting in 2002-03, additional funding increased scholarship winners to two members per institution. To date the Big 12 has provided over $2.5 million for postgraduate education.

Tyler Floyd - Baseball, Texas Tech Athletics

The individual grants began at $2,500 in 1996-97, were raised to $5,000 in 1999 and increased to $6,900 for 2004-05. The awards climbed to $7,500 in 2006-07, moved to $9,000 in 2011-12 and are now at $10,000 since 2013-14.

Criteria for the awards includes a cumulative grade point average of 3.200 on a 4.000 scale, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at the nominee's respective institution and completion of athletics' eligibility.

The student-athletes also must graduate from their respective member institutions within 15 months of their selection for a postgraduate scholarship and are expected to enroll in graduate/professional schools within two years of graduation. Three faculty representatives, one senior woman administrator and one director of athletics form the selection panel for the awards.