Lubbock Mayor Glen Robertson visited with Lubbock's First News' Tom Collins and Laura Mac about Thursday's Lubbock City Council meeting.

The biggest issue that arose at the meeting was the council voting 4-3 to indefinitely postpone voting on the proposed smoking ban ordinance.

Robertson, Jeff Griffith and Karen Gibson voted against the postponement, while council members Latrelle Joy, Floyd Price, Victor Hernandez and Jim Gerlt voted for it.

Robertson says that the postponement was caused by a lobby group which supports  the proposed  ordinance  was told by council members they had enough votes to postpone the decision.

"I know three three council members knew before (the meeting) and told the coalition not to show up because 'We're to going to need you.We have the votes to postpone this,'" Robertson said. "If you know you've got the votes, that means they talked to the fourth member, Reverend (Jim) Gerlt, and if that occurred that is a violation of the open meeting laws and if that occurred it's an absolute slap and insult to our citizens."

Robertson went on to express his displeasure with the council's inaction.

"I don't care how you vote. I don't mind disagreeing. We are supposed to disagree and on issues like this it is alright to disagree passionately. But if you don't have the spine and courage to do your job, than I think you need to get off the council," he said.

The council also appointed three new members to the Lubbock Electric Utility Board.

The Council added Drew Tucker, Stephanie Hill, and Todd McKey to the board.

Susan Blake chose not seek reappointment to the board. The council elected not to reappoint George Carpenter and Emilio Abeta. Steve Massengale was nominated twice but council members vote not to appoint him each time by a vote of 4-3.

For listeners using mobile devices access the interview by clicking here: Mayor Glen Robertson discusses  Thursday's City Council meeting