Contact Us

July 31st Texas Party Primary Runoff Election Results

Results are in for the 2012 Republican and Democrat party primary runoff election.

In the Republican runoff, Ted Cruz has won the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate against Texas Lt. Governor David Dewhurst. Cruz defeated Dewhurst statewide with 56.79 percent to 43.2 percent.

In Lubbock County, Cruz received 56 percent of the vote to Dewhurst’s 44 percent. 8,526 Republicans in Lubbock County voted for Cruz, and 6,709 voted for Dewhurst.

District 88 State Representative Jim Landtroop has lost to challenger Ken King. King received 53.99 percent of the vote to Landtroop’s 46 percent of the vote. 7,541 voters cast ballots for King, as opposed to Landtroop’s 6,426.

Christi Craddick has handily defeated State Representative Warren Chisum for a spot as Railroad Commissioner. Craddick garnered a hefty 59.80 percent of the vote to Chisum’s 40.19 percent.

Craddick received nearly 63 percent of the vote in Lubbock County, showing a hefty margin over Chisum, who received 37.45 percent of the vote in the County.

For the unexpired term as Railroad Commissioner, incumbent Barry Smitherman beat Greg Parker 62 percent to 38 percent. Smitherman received more than 78 percent of the vote in Lubbock County.

In the Texas Supreme Court Justice, place four seat, John Devine has beaten David Medina 53 percent to 47 percent. Lubbockites voted 63 percent for Medina, and only 37 percent for Devine.

An update on a very close election in yesterday’s Republican party primary runoff for Hockley County; Sheriff Paul Scarborough was losing to R.C. Cheek by 2 votes, and a recount was conducted today. Following the recount, Cheek is up by a single vote, and Scarborough says he has one more military vote coming in. If it ends in a tie, another runoff election will be conducted.

In the Democratic primary, Paul Sadler will be the Democrat nominee for U.S. Senate, beating Grady Yarbrough 62.4 percent to 37.6 percent. Lubbock County Democrats voted 63.6 percent for Sadler over Yarbrough, who received 36.4 percent of the local vote.

For Lubbock County Commissioner Precinct 3, challenger Lorenzo “Bubba” Sedeño has defeated incumbent Gilbert Flores by a very close margin of 51 percent to 49 percent. Sedeño received 562 votes to Flores’ 543 votes.

Best of KFYO

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KFYO Advisory Board quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KFYO Advisory Board contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.