Contact Us

Jimmy Kimmel Live Will Go Up Against The Tonight Show and The Late Show in 2013

Frederick M. Brown, Getty Images

The youngest of the late-night comedy hosts is getting another promotion.  Television and movie industry website Deadline.com reports that ABC will move Jimmy Kimmel Live into the 11:35p EST/10:35p CST timeslot in January of 2013.

Kimmel’s show currently starts at 12a EST/11p CST after a 25-minute edition of Nightline. After the change Nightline will air after Kimmel at 12:35p EST/11:35 CST.

Deadline.com expounds upon ABC’s reasoning for the move:

… ABC’s decision to pull the trigger on the long-rumored switcheroo stems from JKL‘s ratings momentum — Jimmy Kimmel Live was the only late-night broadcast talk show to increase its viewership this past season, its most-watched in 5 years — and it has younger audience, making it appealing to advertisers.

Starting next year, the late-night comedy landscape will be more compressed for viewers. Jon Stewart and the Colbert Report on Comedy Central, Monday-Thursday at 10p EST/ 9p CST. Conan on TBS from Monday-Thursday at 11p EST/ 10p CST and then three shows after local newscasts on national networks five nights a week at 11:35p EST/ 10:35p CST: The Tonight Show with Jay Leno on NBC, The Late Show with David Letterman on CBS and Jimmy Kimmel Live on ABC.

More From KFYO

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your points and personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account with your Facebook account, just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing profile and VIP program points. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://kfyo.com using your Facebook account.

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

Register on News/Talk 790 KFYO quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!

Not a Member? Sign Up Here.

Sign up for an account to comment, share your thoughts, and earn points to get great prizes.

Register on News/Talk 790 KFYO quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!