In response to the recent mass shootings in Texas, House Speaker Dennis Bonnen and Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick both created a Select Committee on Mass Violence Prevention and Community Safety.

Earlier this week, Bonnen announced 13 members to his House committee, and on Thursday (Sept. 5), Dan Patrick appointed nine members to his Senate committee.

Republican Senator Joan Huffman of Houston has been named Chairman, and Democratic Senator Judith Zaffirini of Laredo has been named Vice Chairman. Senator Charles Perry of Lubbock will also serve a spot on the committee, which is tasked with developing bipartisan solutions to preventing gun violence in Texas.

Full list of members:

Senator Joan Huffman, R-Houston – Chairman

Senator Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo – Vice Chairman

Sen. Donna Campbell, R-New Braunfels

Sen. Kelly Hancock, R-North Richland Hills

Sen. Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound

Sen. Charles Perry, R-Lubbock

Sen. Jose Rodriguez, D-El Paso

Sen. Larry Taylor, R-Friendswood

Sen. John Whitmire, D-Houston

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO