Texas Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst (R) today appointed State Senator Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) to the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science Advisory Board.  Senator Seliger will replace Senator Florence Shapiro, who is retiring from the Texas Senate.

Created by the Texas Legislature in 1987, the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science (TAMS) is a two-year, residential, early college entrance program serving approximately 380 Texans at the University of North Texas. The program allows exceptional students to concurrently complete their junior and senior years of high school and their first two years of college.

The TAMS Advisory Board consists of nine board members and Senator Seliger's term will expire on August 31, 2015.  Senator Seliger talked about his appointment to the board, "I think this is an important and innovative program and hope that I can help it become a model for math and science education throughout Texas and nationwide."

Senator Seliger represents District 31 in the Texas Senate, spanning 26 counties from the Panhandle to the Permian Basin. He currently serves as Chair of the Senate Select Committee on Redistricting, and serves on the Education, Finance, International Relations and Trade, and Natural Resources Committees.

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO