This week, Lubbock Police pulled over 15 people and gave them tickets for not obeying the Move Over law.

If you see emergency vehicle lights on the shoulder of the road, the law requires you to move over to the next lane or drive 20 miles under the posted speed limit. A ticket could cost you up to $500 dollars. If someone is hurt, you could even be arrested.

Within the last two years, the Texas Department of Public Safety has issued more than 700 "Move Over" citations and more than 1,000 warnings. DPS says the majority of trooper deaths were caused by moving vehicles.

"I've come close to being hit because people don't move over or they don't slow down," said Sergeant John Gonzalez with the Texas Department of Public Safety. "Be alert. Be vigilant what you see. Be vigilant while you're driving, and just move over and slow down."

  • MORE

    Friends of Hollis Alvin Daniels Defend Him on Twitter

  • Viral

    Brawl Outside Lubbock Night Club

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO