The Civic Lubbock Inc, Board has announced five inductions into the West Texas Walk of Fame.

Honorees include Jay Boy Adams, Lew and Diana Dee, Andy Wilkinson and Jaston Williams.

The walk of fame was originally conceived by Larry Corbin and Waylon Jennings as a way to recognize the talent of Buddy Holly. By the year 1983, Civic Lubbock Inc. had assumed the role of caretakers for the walk and Waylon Jennings and Mac Davis were inducted second and third respectively. Other notable inductees include Joe Ely, The Maines Brothers Band, Jimmie Dale Gilmore and Butch Hancock.

Rob Snyder,

Qualified individuals, according to Civic Lubbock, are those who have devoted a significant portion of their lives to the development of the arts or gained recognition in the promotion or production of the arts, music and/or entertainment and who have a strong affiliation to Lubbock and the West Texas area.

Inductee Jay Boy Adams is a singer songwriter and producer who released his self-titled debut album in 1977. He toured voraciously with such acts as ZZ Top, The Allman Brothers Band, Joe Cocker, The Marshall Tucker Band, The Kinks and many others. After leaving the life of a road musician behind in the early 1980’s, Adams created Roadhouse Transportation. The company specializes in creating and leasing out touring coaches for musicians.

Lew and Diana Dee together have decades of experience in broadcasting specifically radio. Diana Dee began her media career working for the Lubbock Avalanche Journal and segued into radio where she met Lew Dee on his KEND morning show in 1978. The couple married in 1988. During the 1990’s the duo managed KKCL and headed the morning show on the station. In 2002 the pair launched Stars 104.3.

Andy Wilkinson is described as a poet, song writer, singer and playwright with particular interest in the history and peoples of the Great Plains. Wilkinson has recorded 11 albums of original works and published eight plays, some of which have been performed by past Walk inductees. Currently, Andy is the Artist in Residence at the Southwest Collection at Texas Tech University and a visiting assistant professor in the School of Music.

Jaston Williams is an actor and play-write with many awards to his name. Williams co-authored, co-starred and produced the play Tuna Does Vegas and the Tuna Trilogy. Jaston has received the Texas Governor’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Arts by a Native Texas and has previously performed at the White House three times. He also received the Austin Critics Table Award for Best Actor in a Drama for appearing in Jay Preston Allen's Tru. He most recently appeared at Zachary Scott Theatre in The Laramie Project.

The induction ceremony will take place on Friday, September 19, 2014 in the Moe Turner Banquet Hall at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center.