Two new directors have been added to the High Plains Underground Water Conservation District No. 1.

Mike Beauchamp of Friona has been elected as Precinct Three district director, and Lynn Tate of Amarillo was elected Precinct Four district director.

Beauchamp, an agricultural producer, defeated incumbent Carroll Cook of Friona with 3,265 votes to Cook’s 1,216 votes. Beauchamp’s term will span four years, representing all of Bailey County, all of Parmer County, and a portion of Castro County.

Cook had served on the HPWD Board of Directors since August 2003.

Tate, an attorney and agricultural producer, beat incumbent Robert Meyer of Canyon with 14,023 votes to Meyer’s 12,653.

Tate’s four-year term will have him representing portions of Armstrong, Deaf Smith, Potter, and Randall Counties.

Meyer has served on the HPWD Board of Directors since September 1993.