On Thursday, May 18th, the Texas State Legislature will make appointments to the positions of state poet laureate, state musician, state two-dimensional artist, and state three-dimensional artist. The 2017 and 2018 appointees will be formally announced through House and Senate resolutions at the Capitol.

The 2017 appointees include Jenny Browne, George Strait, Kermit Oliver, and Beverly Penn. The 2018 appointees include Carol Coffee Reposa, Marcia Ball, Sedrick Huckaby, and Beili Liu.

State Representative John Frullo said, "The great talents of the 2017-2018 State Artists, along with all of those who were nominated, help contribute to a distinctive cultural identity that makes Texas a great place to live, work and visit."

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO