News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO logo
Get our free mobile app

On Monday, December 27th, the Lubbock County Commissioner's Court approved a "body storage fee."

This fee would be $75 a day after the first 5 days that a body would be in the Lubbock County Medical Examiner's Office morgue. This is intended to make local facilities or families move more quickly to get a body out of the morgue. Families, however, would not be sent a bill from the county.

KAMC News reports that the policy will go into effect February 1st, 2022. The police states:

The party who has requested LCME to hold remains are responsible for coordinating the disposition of the remains with the appropriate party, whether that be with the legal next of kin, funeral home, etc. LCME will only be responsible for holding the remains and ensuring the Release of Remains form is completed correctly.

This fee will start on the 6th day a body is in the morgue, even on weekends and holidays. However, the fee will not apply for bodies being held for the District Attorney or law enforcement.

On top of this, commissioner's also approved an expenditure of up to $10 million for a new facility to house the office of the Lubbock County Medical Examiner.

The 10 Safest Towns in Texas

These are the 10 safest towns in Texas based on violent crime and property crime rates via Neighborhood Scout.

20 Texas Places We Have All Been Saying Completely Wrong

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO