Thursday morning, the U.S. House of Representatives officially elected Rep. Paul Ryan (R- WI) Speaker of the House. Ryan replaces Rep. John Boehner (R- Ohio) who is resigning from Congress.

Rep. Randy Neugebauer (R- Texas) released the following statement concerning Ryan's election:

“I want to congratulate Paul Ryan on his election as Speaker of the House. I have had the pleasure of serving with Paul Ryan throughout my entire tenure in Congress, and in working with him over the years, it is clear that he understands the challenges facing our nation and the conservative solutions we need to get our country back on track," Neugebauer said.

"He has proven himself to be a thoughtful leader as Chairman of the Budget Committee, as a candidate for Vice President, and as Chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee. He is also a great communicator who can effectively express our conservative message to the American people. It is clear that we needed new leadership in the House of Representatives and I look forward to working together to make America stronger.”

Two Texas Republicans voted against Ryan in the speaker vote, Rep. Louie Gohmert of Tyler and Rep. Randy Weber of Friendswood.

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO