The Texas Department of Criminal Justice has released the names of the two correctional officers and eight prisoners who were killed when a prison bus crashed near Odessa Wednesday morning.

According to officials, the following people were killed when a prison transport bus traveling from the Middleton Unit in Abilene to the Sanchez Unit in El Paso slid down an embankment on I-20 West and crashed into a passing freight train:

Correctional officers Christopher Davis (53) and Eligio Garcia (45); and inmates Byron Wilson (34); Tyler Townsend (29); Jesus Reyna (44); Kaleb Wise (22); Adolfo Ruiz (32); Michael Sewart (25); Angel Vasquez (31); and Jeremiah Rodriguez (35).

In addition, correctional officer Jason Self and inmates Terry Johnson, Damien Rodriguez, Remigio Pineda and Hector Rivera were hospitalized.

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO