UPDATE 9:02p, June 7

A Flash Flood Watch has been issued until 1a, Sunday morning for Parmer, Castro, Swisher, Briscoe, Bailey, Lamb, Cottle, Floyd, Hale, Cochran, Hockey, Lubbock, Crosby, Dickens and Yoakum counties.

The Flash Flood Watch has been issued in anticipation of two thunderstorm complexes moving into the South Plains over the next few hours.


A Tornado Watch is in effect until 1a Sunday morning for the vast majority of the South Plains.  The counties included in the watch area are: Curry and Roosevelt counties in New Mexico and Parmer, Castro, Swisher, Briscoe, Hall, Bailey, Lamb, Hale, Floyd, Motley, Cottle, Cochran, Hockley, Lubbock, Crosby, Dickens, King, Yoakum, Terry, Lynn, Garza and Kent counties in Texas.

As of 8:45p, Saturday night, Severe Thunderstorm Warnings continue for Yoakum & Gaines counties. Curry County in Eastern New Mexico. Also, Motley and Dickens counties in the Eastern South Plains.