The Texas legislature passed a new law that goes into effect on September 1st and more than likely it will affect you.

On Friday, September 1, 2017, it is illegal in the state of Texas to text and drive.

Distracted driving has become a big issue in Texas, so much so that all drivers 16-24 and new drivers in Texas are required to take a state mandated distracted driving course before they can receive their license.

Texas DPS 2016 distracted driving stats (TXDPS):

  • More than 100,000 crashes
  • 3,000 endured serious injuries
  • 455 people died

The fines can also be ugly:

  • 1st offense: A fine between $25 and $99
  • 2nd offense with conviction: A fine raised by $100-$200

While texting and driving become illegal (that includes reading, writing or sending), GPS and music apps are still OK to use.

  • MORE

    Lubbock Police Seek Woman Beater


    19 Exotic Animals Banned As Pets In Texas

More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO