News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO logo
Get our free mobile app

The City of Lubbock is kicking off a new campaign to remind citizens to 'Add 806' when making phone calls in the 806. Beginning October 24th, if you want to make a phone call to a number with an 806 area code, you will have to dial all ten digits.

The change is due to the Federal Communications Commission, also known as the FCC, designating 988 as the new code to reach the National Suicide Prevention and Mental Health Crisis Lifeline as KFYO's Rob Snyder reported in April.

Texas and New Mexico area codes making the conversion to 10-digit dialing include: 806 (Lubbock & Amarillo), 940 (Wichita Falls & Vernon), 915 (El Paso), 254 (Waco), and 575 (Eastern and Southern New Mexico).

There is a grace period through October 24, 2021 in which seven-digit dialing will still be permitted, but after October 24th, seven-digit phone calls will be rejected.

The conversion to 10-digit dialing in the aforementioned area codes is because of next year's creation of 988 as a nationwide dialing code for the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. 988 joins the other nationwide dialing code already in effect in the U.S., which includes: 911, 211, 311, 411, 711 and 811.

The "988" number will officially go into use nationwide on July 16, 2022. In the interim, the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline can still be reached by calling 1-800-273-8255 (TALK).

Those who have lived in Dallas/Fort Worth, Houston, and other large metropolitan areas have been used to ten digit dialing for a while now. Just don't forget, October 24 and beyond to add the 806.

10 Highest Appreciating Neighborhoods in Lubbock Since 2000

Here are the 10 highest appreciating neighborhoods in Lubbock since 2000, according to Neighborhood Scout.

10 Safest Neighborhoods in Lubbock

Here are Lubbock's 10 safest neighborhoods according to violent and property crime numbers found on Neighborhood Scout.

8 Famous People Who've Visited Lubbock


More From News/Talk 95.1 & 790 KFYO