Lubbock County and other area farmers hurt by drought now qualify for emergency loans.

Farmers and ranchers in West Texas have been declared eligible to receive low-interest emergency loans under a streamlined disaster designation process.

The USDA Texas Farm Service Agency says that as of January 9th a total of 207 Texas counties were declared disasters due to severe drought and heat.

The list of West Texas counties includes Bailey, Crosby, Dickens, Garza, Hockley, Lamb, Lynn,Terry and Yoakum counties.

Producers wanting details about emergency loans should call local Farm Service Agency offices or visit