Texas Tech’s football coach is on an award watch list.

Red Raider head football coach Tommy Tuberville has been named to the Bryant Coach of the Year watch list, along with 19 other coaches from across the nation.

The award is named for longtime University of Alabama head football coach Paul “Bear” Bryant, and the Bryant Awards not only recognize excellence in coaching, but also work to raise funds to fight heart disease and stroke.

Tuberville received the award in 2004, after coaching the Auburn Tigers through an undefeated season.

The winner of the Bryant Coach of the Year award will be announced at an awards dinner on January 19th, 2012 in Houston.

Former University of Iowa Head Football Coach Hayden Fry will also receive a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Other coaches on the watch list include Oklahoma State head coach Mike Gundy, Nebraska’s Bo Pelini, Bill Snyder of Kansas State University, University of Oklahoma’s Bob Stoops, and Joe Paterno of Penn State University.