Three Lubbock ISD teachers have been selected for a notable award.

Kerry L. Vega from Jayne Ann Miller Elementary, Brian P. Ellyson from the Talkington School for Young Women Leaders, and Melissa L. Durham from the Talkington School for Young Women Leaders have been selected as Beaumont Foundation Newton Excellence in Education Award winners.

“Education is the key to a better future and great teachers are the key to education,” said Wayne Reaud, chairman of the board of the Beaumont Foundation. “Our winners are outstanding representatives of excellence in education.”

The award recipients will be honored at an awards gala in May where they will each receive a crystal obelisk, a portrait, and $10,000.

Six teachers are selected annually to receive the Newton Award, and this year, three of the six are from Lubbock ISD.

The Beaumont Foundation strives to provide public recognition and financial incentives to teachers who are furthering excellence in their profession.