Contact Us

Texas Rangers Radio Play-by-Play Announcer Eric Nadel Elected to Hall of Fame

Texas Rangers

Wednesday, at Major League Baseball’s annual Winter Meetings, the 2014 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award was announced.  The winner: Eric Nadel from the Texas Rangers.

“I’m very proud and I’m grateful beyond words for having a chance to do this for a living,” said Nadel. The 2013 season marked Nadel’s 35th year of broadcasting Rangers baseball. The last 19 season he’s been the play-by-play voice for Rangers radio broadcasts.

The other nine finalists for the 2014 Frick award were Joe Castiglione, Jacques Doucet, Ken Harrelson, Bill King, Duane Kuiper, Eduardo Ortega, Mike Shannon, Dewayne Staats and Pete van Wieren.

“I congratulate my friend Eric Nadel on winning the 2014 Ford C. Frick Award,” said former President George W. Bush to, who was once an owner of the Rangers. “For more than 30 years, Eric has brought the Texas Rangers and the great game of baseball to fans all over the Southwest. His passion for the sport is evident in every broadcast. Any announcer can call a game, but Eric brings his listeners into the stadium. He is a wonderful ambassador for our national pastime.”

The Frick Award is presented annually for excellence in broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. Nadel will be enshrined with a bronze plaque in the Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony will occur in Cooperstown on July 26.

Best of KFYO

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KFYO Advisory Board quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KFYO Advisory Board contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.