The newest U.S. Senator from Texas has been sworn in.

Ted Cruz has now officially replaced Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison, who began in the U.S. Senate in 1993.

Texas U.S. Senator John Cornyn officially welcomed Cruz, saying “Ted has quickly proven himself to be among the next generation of leaders of Texas and the Republican Party.”

He continued, saying “I’m pleased to welcome him to the Texas delegation and I look forward to working closely with him as we fight for a conservative agenda that will grow the economy and create jobs while putting our nation on a path toward fiscal prosperity.”

Cruz defeated Texas Lt. Governor David Dewhurst 57 percent to 43 percent in the July 31st, 2012 party primary runoff election, and beat Democrat Paul Sadler with 57 percent of the vote in the November 2012 general election.