Sunday's College World Series Opening Round game between Texas Tech and TCU came down to an exciting eighth inning.

TCU jumped out to a 1-0 lead after the first inning with a Boomer White sacrifice fly.  After that the bats would go silent for both teams and neither team would score again until the top of the eighth.

With TCU leading 1-0 in the top of the eighth, Stephen Smith singled with one out to give Texas Tech some life. Smith was removed from the game as Zach Davis came in to pinch run. Anthony Lyons then hit a single to left and TCU’s White misplayed it, allowing Davis to advance to third and Lyons to second.

The next hitter up for the Red Raiders was Tyler Neslony. Neslony smacked a triple deep to right field scoring both Davis and Lyons. The triple changed the complexion of the game as the Red Raiders went up 2-1 on the Horned Frogs.  Unfortunately, for the Red Raiders the two runs were all they could get in the eighth as Neslony was thrown out trying to score on an Eric Gutierrez fielder’s choice.

In the bottom of the eighth, Tim Tadlock made a pitching change removing starter Chris Sadberry and putting in lefty reliever Jonny Drozd. Sadberry threw 98 pitches in seven innings of work. He struck out five, walked two, gave up three hits and one run.

Drozd had one out on the Horned Frogs with a man at second when a defensive miscue would shift the momentum back to TCU’s favor.

Cody Jones hit a grounder to the hole that was fielded by 2B Alec Humphreys. With his speed, Jones was already safe at first by the time Humphreys had control of the ball, but Humphreys went ahead and tried to get the out at first.  The throw sailed wide of Gutierrez and Keaton Jones scored from second on the error to tie the game at 2-2. Cody Jones advanced to second on the error and two batters later was driven in on an RBI single to left by White.  The unearned run gave TCU the lead 3-2 and they would go on to win by that score.

Texas Tech will play Ole Miss in a Loser’s Bracket game Tuesday afternoon at 2p at TD Ameritrade Park.  The game will be televised on ESPN2.