Contact Us

Lubbock Christian University Accepted Into NCAA Division II Candidacy


A Lubbock university has been accepted into the NCAA Division II category.

Lubbock Christian University got notice from the National Collegiate Athletic Association on their acceptance into the Division II candidacy.

The Chaparrals make the transition from the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics, which will be a three year process.

According to a press release, LCU will remain a member of the NAIA and the Sooner Athletic Conference for the 2012-13 season, which will be followed by a two-year provisional period before officially being granted Division II status.

All 11 of LCU’s varsity athletics programs will be transitioning to compete at the Division II level. LCU will participate as a member of the Heartland Conference, whose member presidents recently gave unanimous support to approve LCU as one of 12 conference members, beginning in the 2013-14 academic year.

Other schools in NCAA Division II include Arkansas-Fort Smith, Dallas Baptist, McMurry in Abilene, Newman in Kansas, Oklahoma Panhandle State, St. Edwards of Texas, St. Mary’s in San Antonio, Texas A&M International, and Texas Permian Basin.

Best of KFYO

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KFYO Advisory Board quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KFYO Advisory Board contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.