"Moore Excitement" has reached the pinnacle of college football, as Jerry Moore was elected to the College Football Hall of Fame on Thursday.  Moore was the head coach for three different teams during his career: North Texas (1979 & 1980), Texas Tech (1981-1985) and Appalachian State (1989-2012).

Moore had a career record of 242-135-2, the 16th winningest of all-time for Division I head coaches (FBS & FCS).  Moore lead his Appalachian State Mountaineers to three consecutive FCS National Championships from 2005-07 and won AFCA National Coach of the Year honors in three consecutive seasons.

“We are extremely proud to announce the 2014 College Football Hall of Fame Class,” said Archie Manning, National Football Foundation (NFF) Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Ole Miss. “Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments at the new Hall of Fame in Atlanta as an inspiration to future generations.”

Moore also led his Mountaineers in a historic upset of #5 Michigan to start the 2007 season. It was the first time an FCS team beat a nationally-ranked FBS opponent.

One of Moore's signature wins while coaching Texas Tech was the Red Raiders 1982 win against Texas A&M in College Station.  You can watch a recap video of the win right here on the site.