Contact Us

FEMA Adds Counties, Extends Deadline for Wildfire Assistance


A federal agency has announced that funds will be sent to Texas to help communities damaged by the recent wildfires.

Governor Rick Perry announced Wednesday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency will expand its major disaster declaration to include 119 counties for wildfire assistance, and has extended the incident period.

The original FEMA declaration only covered wildfires which occurred between April 6th through May 3rd of 2011, and only included 45 counties. The extension moves the declaration date through August 29th, 2011, and adds 74 counties.

Counties included in the expanded disaster declaration are eligible to receive up to 75 percent reimbursement for certain expenses.

Perry said “This extension provides much-needed relief for counties whose first responders bravely fought the high winds and extreme heat day after day as devastating wildfires threatened their homes and communities.”

More than 3.9 million acres have been burned in over 26,000 fires since late last December, and response costs on both the state and local levels are estimated at over $330 million.

Best of KFYO

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KFYO Advisory Board quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KFYO Advisory Board contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.